What sort of heavy metal am I listening to? Part 2

After the first installment of our continuing educational series, ‘What sort of heavy metal am I listening to?’, you should be confidently able to differentiate nu-metal from old school metal, which will hopefully help you avoid any social faux pas in the mosh pit. In part two, we will learn to tell the difference between metalcore and black metal, once again by paying particular attention to the lyrical content of the songs.

 

Metalcore lyric subjects:

No one knows how deeply sensitive I am, despite the fact I am screaming about it as loud as I can.

Our economic system is founded on inequality. I know, right? That sucks!

That girl who broke my heart will never know how deeply I feel the loss of her love, despite the fact that I am screaming about it as loud as I can.

I think the environment is, like, totally important!

Sometimes I don’t feel very positive about myself, but I don’t like to go on about it, despite the fact I am screaming about it as loud as I can.

All this ennui is killing me. Hence the screaming.

 

Black metal lyric subjects:

Hail Satan.

 

Remember friends, forewarned is forearmed. Print this list out and keep it with you for any situation where you might encounter metal in all its myriad forms.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

